North American Society for Social Philosophy 2012 Book Award


Deadline: December 31, 2012

The North American Society for Social Philosophy honours the best book published in social philosophy each year with the NASSP Book Award. The Book Award Committee invites you to nominate a book to compete for this award for the year 2012.

The Award will be offered to the book published in 2012 that makes the most significant contribution to social philosophy. The field is to be construed broadly, to include social and political philosophy, philosophy of law, philosophy of social science, and social ethics. Excluded are anthologies, historical studies, works on ethics that lack a distinctly social component as well as works on a social topic that lack a substantial philosophical component.

Note: For the purposes of this competition, a book will normally be considered to have been published in the year of its copyright, rather than the year of its release, unless there are exceptional circumstances that warrant otherwise.

The Award is presented each year at our annual conference, where the author receives a plaque and participates in a panel presentation on the book. The winning book and other nominated books are displayed at the conference and publicized in our newsletter and in our refereed journal, The Journal of Social Philosophy.

Please take a few moments and consider which book or books published in 2012 you thought best – then email your nomination(s) to all three members this year’s book award committee (listed below). You may also email the committee if you have questions. To keep the task manageable, the Book Award Committee will need to receive your nomination(s) by December 31, 2012.

The 2012 book award committee consists of:

Chris Lowry (chair), University of Waterloo,

Gaile Polhaus, Miami University,

Elizabeth Sperry, William Jewell College,


Please include:

Your Name, Author(s) (if it isn’t you), Title, Publisher


Some Past Winners of the NASSP Book Award:

  • Ben Berger, Attention Deficit Democracy (Princeton University Press, 2011)
  • Stephen Nathanson, Terrorism and the Ethics of War (Cambridge University Press, 2010)
  • Amartya Sen, The Idea of Justice (Harvard University Press, 2009)
  • G. A. Cohen, Rescuing Justice and Equality (Harvard University Press, 2008)
  • Will Kymlicka, Multicultural Odysseys (Oxford University Press, 2007)
Be Sociable, Share!

About Chris Lowry

I focus on liberal theory, esp. Rawls. My current work examines how the capability critique of primary goods has theoretical implications for the neutrality/perfectionism debate. In particular, I'm working on a defence of limited perfectionism that fits within a larger neutralist framework and is justified by familiar neutralist-type reasons.
This entry was posted in Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply