Author Archives: Robert Talisse

NBiP: Jason Brennan, The Ethics of Voting

Readers of Public Reason might be interested in the New Books in Philosophy interview I conducted with Jason Brennan about his new book, The Ethics of Voting (Princeton UP, 2011).  Follow this link.

Cheers,  –Robert Talisse

Posted in Notices | Leave a comment

NBiP Interview with Elizabeth Anderson

Public Reasoners might be interested in checking out the interview I conducted with Elizabeth Anderson about her recent book, The Imperative of Integration, for New Books in Philosophy. 

Follow this link.

Cheers,

–Bob Talisse

Posted in Notices | Leave a comment

NBiP Interview with Jerry Gaus

Public Reasoners:

The holiday caused a slight delay in posting my New Books in Philosophy interview with Jerry Gaus about The Order of Public Reason. It has now been posted here.  Please check it out.

Thanks,

–Bob Talisse

Posted in Notices | Leave a comment

Podcast: New Books in Philosophy

Hello Public Reasoners!

I write to announce a new podcast, New Books in Philosophy. Carrie Figdor (U of Iowa) and I co-host the podcast, and each episode features an in-depth interview with an author of a newly-published philosophy book. Interviews will be posted on the 1st and 15th of each month. The inaugural interview, posted today, is with Eric Schwitzgebel (UC Riverside), author of Perplexities of Consciousness (MIT Press). An interview with Jerry Gaus (Arizona), author of The Order of Public Reason (Cambridge University Press), will be posted on July 1st. Upcoming podcasts include interviews with Robert Pasnau, Sandy Goldberg, Carolyn Korsmeyer, Fabienne Peter, Jason Brennan, Allen Buchanan, Elizabeth Anderson, and others. Please click over to the NBiP site, and check out what we’re doing.

read more...

Posted in Blogosphere, Books, Notices | 1 Comment

Democracy and Moral Conflict

A quick interruption to let PRers know that my book Democracy and Moral Conflict (Cambridge University Press)  has just come out. Here are few endorsements from the back cover:

‘Talisse sees profound moral and religious conflict in our political life that threatens democracy, and makes impossible effective defenses by appeal to shared values. He advances an important alternative: our common commitment to sound beliefs should lead us all to endorse democratic politics. This is a fine work of public philosophy in the tradition of J. S. Mill and John Dewey.’ –Gerald Gaus, University of Arizona

read more...

Posted in Books, Notices | 1 Comment

Public Affairs Quarterly: call for submissions

PUBLIC AFFAIRS QUARTERLY

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS

Public Affairs Quarterly is planning a special issue on “Science and Public Affairs.” We seek submissions on any topic addressing questions of the role of science and technology in public and social policy. Of special interest are papers addressing questions of genetic enhancement, science education, the role of scientific evidence in the law, and the social responsibilities of scientists.

Please send an electronic copy of the paper to Robert Talisse at robert.talisse@vanderbilt.edu, and a hardcopy to Robert Talisse, Editor PAQ, Philosophy Department, 111 Furman Hall, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN 37240.

read more...

Posted in Calls for Papers, Notices | Leave a comment